armedlanternssmall

 

 

How much will it cost?

The cost of a divorce depends on the complexity of the case. If there are marital properties, debts, children, etc. and these issues are in dispute, the legal fees and cost are higher than if none of these issues exists.

How long will it take?

Uncontested divorce 30 - 90 days.

Contested divorce 3 - 12 months, or longer

Can I get a no-fault divorce?

No. There is no such thing as no-fault divorce or divorce based on irreconcilable differences in the State of Arkansas. Grounds for divorce must be proven. Grounds include:

General Indignities - Arkansas law defines general indignities as: rudeness, vulgarity, unmerited reproach, haughtiness, contempt, contumeliousness, studied neglect, intentional incivility, injury, manifest, disdain, abusive language, malignant ridicule and any other plain manifestation of settled hate, alienation, and estrangement.
Adultery
18 month separation
Felony conviction during the marriage
Habitual substance abuse

What is "transparenting" class?

In Pulaski County, everyone who obtains a divorce where children are born of the marriage must attend "transparent" class before the divorce is final. This four-hour seminar creates an opportunity for parents to shift their attention from the personal aspects of divorce to the needs of their children. The cost of the class is $40.00.

For more information, CLICK HERE.

Is mediation a good idea?

Often it is a very good idea. In Arkansas, mediation is offered on a sliding-scale fee or at no cost when parents are mediating the issue of custody. Mediation provides an opportunity for couples to sit down with a mediator and try to come to an agreement that reflects the best interest of their children.

 

 

Regions Building, Downtown Little Rock
400 W. Capitol Avenue, Suite 1700
Little Rock, AR 72201
501-374-4747; 501-372-3482 (fax)
Carol@carolnokes.com